Remembering the 1990s Chicago Bulls Dynasty

The 2022/23 NBA season is heating up nicely, and there is one team that is currently taking the league by storm and perhaps returning to prominence, the Boston Celtics. The Massachusetts-based outfit currently sits at the top of the NBA’s Eastern Conference and appears to have put a bad run behind them in recent weeks to underline their championship-winning credentials. 

Led by the mercurial Jayson Tatum, the Celtics have picked up 33 wins already this season, and they will be hoping to go one better than they did last season. In the 2021/22 season, they fell short in capturing the Larry O’Brien Trophy in the NBA finals when they were defeated by Steph Curry and his Golden State Warriors. The San Francisco franchise picked up their fourth crown in seven years, while the Celtics were sent home to lick their wounds.

***Please note.  There are sponsored links in this post.***

It appears that they did exactly that in the postseason, and now they are aiming for glory once again. Their early season form has prompted sportsbooks to select them as the favorites for glory this term, as you can check here:

Even if they were to manage to go all the way, they would still have some way to go before they can match their team from the 1960s and 70s. 

Between 1957 and 1969, the Boston Celtics became the greatest dynasty in all of American sports when they captured 11 NBA championships in 13 seasons. It is not likely that Tatum and company will ever be able to match that, but one other team certainly did their very best to emulate those famous Celtics. 

Elevate your NBA viewing experience with the Best VPN for NBA League Pass.

Don’t miss a moment of the Boston Celtics’ journey or reminisce about the Chicago Bulls dynasty securely. Find the perfect VPN for seamless streaming.

The First "Three-Peat"

The 1990s Chicago Bulls are not only remembered for their six championships and incredible run of dominance in the NBA, but for being one of the greatest teams in sports history. Led by the incomparable Michael Jordan, the Bulls dominated the NBA for the better part of the decade and left an indelible mark on the game of basketball.

The Bulls’ success began in the 1989-90 season, when Jordan, Scottie Pippen, and Horace Grant formed one of the most formidable trios in NBA history. Led by Jordan’s extraordinary talent and leadership, the Bulls went on to capture the first NBA championship in franchise history 1991. The Bulls took the series in five games, and Jordan was named the Finals MVP.

The Illinois-based outfit followed up their championship season with a league-best 67-15 record in 1991-92, and they went on to capture their second NBA title after sweeping the Portland Trail Blazers in the Finals. Jordan was again named the Finals MVP, and the Bulls were firmly established as the NBA’s best team.

Jordan and the Bulls continued to dominate the league in 1993, winning their third championship in six games against the Phoenix Suns. Jordan’s performance in the series was especially remarkable as he scored a Finals-record 45 points in Game 4 and was named MVP for the third straight year.

So Nice, They Did It Twice

Following their third consecutive NBA Championship, Michael Jordan briefly retired from the sport, taking up a career in baseball instead. His decision stunned the basketball world and in his absence, the Bulls endured a fall from grace. Without Jordan, there was a new team to beat, the Houston Rockets, who took full advantage of the absent Bulls to win back-to-back championships. 

Ahead of the 1995 season, Jordan would return to the Bulls, famously announcing his return in a two-word statement that simply read “I’m back.” He would lead his side to glory once again. 

The Bulls’ fourth championship came in 1995-96 when they went a league-best 72-10 and swept the Seattle SuperSonics in the NBA Finals. Jordan was again the Finals MVP and set an NBA record by averaging 30.7 points, 6.6 rebounds, and 4.2 assists per game throughout the postseason.

The Bulls continued their form the following season, winning their fifth championship and their second title on the spin. They beat the Utah Jazz in six games and Jordan was again the star of the series, scoring the game-winner in Game six and receiving his fifth MVP award.

The Bulls captured their sixth and final championship in 1998, once again beating the Utah Jazz by winning the series in six games. Jordan was again the star of the series, scoring 45 points in Game 6 and earning his sixth Finals MVP award. His performance was so impressive that he was named the league’s MVP for the 1998 season.

The Bulls’ reign of dominance ended in with their last dance in that 1998 season, but their accomplishments will never be forgotten. Led by Jordan’s remarkable talent and leadership, the Bulls won six championships in eight years – completing two ‘three-peats’ in the process – and established themselves as one of the greatest teams of all time. Their legacy lives on in the hearts and minds of basketball fans everywhere, and the 1990s Chicago Bulls will always be remembered for their incredible accomplishments.

Join the newsletter

Learn more about the Sports History Network

    We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.

    Leave a Comment